Getting knocked down and getting back up again

The story of a man going through coding relapse

You've all heard the story of insanity, the idea of repeating the same action expecting different results. Well...at this point, I should be in an insane asylum.

My coding journey took a start in November 2016 when I decided to participate in the FreeCodeCamp's Responsive Web Design course. After working on it off and on for a few years, I completed it in March 2019. Afterwards I started on the JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures course where I slowly lost interest and gave up.

In the middle of the FCC curriculum, I enrolled in Codecademy's ready program in February 2017, where I eventually passed the program, but not after falling behind numerous times due to lack of interest.

Fast-forward a few years and I attempted to partake in teamtreehouse in late 2019-early 2020 but quickly lost interest and gave up.

Fast-forward even more to 2021, and I attempted the FreeCodeCamp's Responsive Web Design course again. I finished it and once again gave up when I entered the JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures course.

I decided January 1st 2022 that this time will be different. That this time I'll actually follow through with becoming a web developer. But what changed this time? Why do I think I will actually follow through with this journey and that I won't succumb to burnout and loss of interest?

Well...it all started with some self reflecting. Looking back on my journeys with coding, I always seemed to lose interest when I entered an area I knew little or nothing about. Anytime I was presented with an obstacle that required some grit and willpower, I threw in the towel and called it quits.

However, this is not the example I want to give my children. I want them to face hardships and challenges with grit, determination, and a will to excel. Why expect that from other people if I myself can't even do it.

This time, I'm dedicated to coding at least once a day. Previously, in all my other attempts, I told myself I had to code at least an hour a day. Some days I have a lot going on and couldn't find time to squeeze an hour of coding, and when I missed a day and broke my streak it would be extremely demotivating. With the goal of coding at least once a day, I can code as little or as much as time and willpower will allow. This is a low-hanging fruit goal that I'm confident will keep me motivated.

I'm also not giving myself a time frame on when I need to complete a project or have a concept solidified. This will allow it to be more self-paced and allow me time to really understand and execute the concept and lessons I'm learning.

I'm working a full-time job now, averaging close to 50 hours a week. Recently got a promotion, and I'm enrolled in an online degree program. There's a lot going on but at the end of the day. My dream has and always will be to become a full-stack developer.

I hope you enjoyed these rambling of an insane person and are willing to stick around for more laughs and triumphs that I'll share occasionally. This is the year of productivity and this is the year I will take a step to making my dreams a reality. Regardless of how big that step is.